Yet Another CIMB GROUP Phishing Site Email

Just few our ago I received another email claim from CIMB GROUP.

Below I quote the sender email address and email body :

from    CIMB Group <alert@every-clicks5.com>
to
date    Wed, May 6, 2009 at 4:45 AM
subject    Account Suspension (Urgent)

hide details 4:45 AM (7 hours ago)

Reply

CIMB ALERT MESSAGE – HIGH-58-02/ID

Dear Valued Customer,

CIMB Aaccount Security Systems (CASS-8/8/9) detected a security “threat” in your account as it was accessed from a blacklisted location. We have suspended your account pending your immediate reactivation for safety reasons.

Reactivate

http://www.cimbclicks.com.my/

Note that inactive accounts will be deactivated in less than 5min for security reasons. We regret any inconvenience caused.

Sincerely,

CIMB Group

The question here is, how do they know your email?

There are few possibility.

1 ) One is your identity (name, addresses and emails) has been sold to 3rd party.

2) Second is you did put your email to public such as in your blogger profile or your personal/company website ect.

3) You have been betray by previous seller/buyer. Eg, you had an online deal with someone before and its a successful deal. But in the same time that seller/buyer send you an email with a phishing site attach.

Above all that, there is one thing to be remember and that is your bank or any financial company never send you and email which ask you to login to your account from it.

If you getting a warning email do not respond to that email by clicking any link from it. What you need to do is call the bank your self to confirm the status. That is the best way.

Regards,

ScammerAlert Staf

Leave a Reply

© 2010 Scammer Alert. All rights reserved.
Proudly designed by Scam Alert.